Don’t call us, we’ll call you

May 17, 2010

My D.C. peeps

Filed under: Family, Motherhood, Personal — llcall @ 6:50 pm

At first it seemed frustrating that Addison stopped napping unless I was holding her.  It felt like I lost my time to eat, shower, get the laundry done, etc.  While I still wish I could do those things more regularly than I do, I’ve been able to reframe the time that she’s napping on me as my blogging time.  If I’m very careful, I can get her and the computer into just the right position to be mildly comfortable.  Now I can think of it as time to blog instead of do housework, guilt-free!

***

Addison got to spend time with a couple of my D.C. ladies recently.

Kirsten is temporarily living in Utah County while figuring out where her next big adventure will take her.  And it could be anywhere (!), which is very exciting even if job-hunting is a drag.  She came over and babysat for us while Neal and I went out to lunch on a real date.

As you can see, Addison got real cozy . . . she’s an equal opportunity napper, that one.  I think Kirsten enjoyed it, minus about ten minutes of what she described as the “scream of death.”

In addition to having a way with the babies, Kirsten is undoubtedly one of the most well-read, well-informed, and well-educated (three master’s degrees, people!) ladies you’ll ever meet.  I’m so glad Utah’s been a stop on her recent journeys!!

Andrea’s visit was a bit more of a cameo, as we met her at the Salt Lake airport during a brief layover.  We spent all day Saturday planning a cute outfit for the photo shoot, and then Addison refused to look at the camera.

Thank goodness Andrea’s very photogenic, so the pictures weren’t a total loss.

Andrea has a special place in our family lore because if not for her, Addison wouldn’t be here as I would have broken up with Neal many years ago!  See, Andrea and Neal are pretty much the exact. same. person.  So every time I would vent about a conflict or frustration while we were dating, Andrea would side with Neal and talk me down from the proverbial ledge.  We’re all very grateful for that.  And for the visit.

2 Comments »

  1. an equal opportunity napper! who could ask for more?!

    Comment by joelynn — May 17, 2010 @ 10:19 pm

  2. A shout out on your blog – what an honor! It was so great seeing you guys. I’m now looking forward to layovers. Tell Addison I’ll be back soon to see the rest of her track suit collection!

    Comment by Andrea — May 17, 2010 @ 11:37 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

