Don’t call us, we’ll call you

February 14, 2012

Lately . . .

Filed under: Family, Personal — Tags: , , , , — llcall @ 8:30 pm

I was called to be an Activity Days leader at church.  To which I replied, “Sure.  What are Activity Days?”  This definitely did not exist when I was a youngster.  But now I know: my co-leader and I get together twice a month with about ten 8-11 year-old girls.  We have a brief lesson or spiritual thought and then we do projects.  So far, we’ve made Valentine’s cards for the missionaries and military servicemen from our ward and collages about ourselves.  Next activity: budgeting!  (Can you guess who picked that topic?)

By the way, is it strange that I was more nervous for my first Activity Days meeting than my first visit to D.C. Jail?  I kept thinking, what will we talk about?  It’s so easy when there are drug charges and the underground economy to discuss.

The first week I prepared a short lesson about being neighborly and giving service (pretty basic, right?), but I kept thinking, how should I talk to pre-teen girls?  What do they already know?  What kind of vocabulary do they have?  [As you can tell, I wasn’t lying when I said I have not really been a “kid” person for very long.]  As it turned out, they were not as scary as I feared.  The five-minute lesson I had planned turned into about 25 minutes with a lot statements like this:

Well, this isn’t exactly related to what you’re saying, but it kinda is, but not really. [Proceed to tell mostly-unrelated story.]

And it was seriously delightful.  I think I could learn to love these girls, even with no rap sheets.

***

After that I got called to teach Relief Society.  Kind of a surprise since I had just been given another calling the week before, but apparently someone along the line felt very strongly about it.  Since I only teach once a month, and I’ve taught Relief Society in maybe 80% of the wards I have ever been in, I was not too hesitant.  I feel like it will be good for me since it will force me to dedicate more time to study and prayer.

I taught my first lesson on Sunday, which was followed by the counselor in the presidency saying, “So by show of hands, how many people felt like a proud mother hen during this lesson since you remember teaching Lindsay as a child?”  I’ll take that as a good sign.

***

Also, I became a de facto property manager for my parents’ rental property.  Because of some difficult tenants, they found themselves with an empty house in need of major repair and renovation.  So in my spare time, I’m learning about laying concrete and doweling with rebar and state laws governing eviction.  I can’t say this is a dream job for me, but it feels good to contribute in a substantive way to my parents’ situation.  Maybe all that HGTV watching Neal and I did a few years ago is finally paying off!

And clearly I have the best work crew in town:

Action shot . . . go, Kirst!

Addison and I spend a lot of time doing this on Saturday afternoons:

Waiting for that exciting moment when the work crew calls it a day and returns home!

Daddy’s home!

3 Comments »

  1. I think those were both excellent callings for you! I love that you are doing a lesson on budgeting. One thing I wish I could go back and tell my 11 year old self is not to rely on my future self. I will fumble this but what I mean is, I was definitely one of those people that thought, once I do “x” (get to college, get out of college, get a real job, reach 30) then I’ll have no problem paying car/student/credit card loans. So many people fund their present self by indebting their future self. I knew I had finally broken free when we bought our first house using just Peter’s income as our measuring stick, even though we were pretty sure that I’d get a job and he’d get a raise within a year. And yes, both things did happen but I was so glad we hadn’t counted on them.
    Anyways, the fact that you’ll be teaching young girls about this makes me sooooooooo happy. And I also think you’d be a great Relief Society teacher.
    And good luck with the renovations–so fun! 🙂

    Comment by kei02003 — February 14, 2012 @ 8:46 pm

    • No like button to push, but I triple-like your comment, kei02003!

      Comment by Lorie Call — May 19, 2012 @ 4:51 pm

  2. I was activity days leader for about 3 months and it was one of my all-time favorite callings ever. I cried and cried when I was released and called as YW pres. Partially because I was scared to death to be YW Pres, partly because I loved my 8-11 year olds SO much! And it’s a great calling in terms of relatively low work and high emotional benefit/fun. Doesn’t it make you excited for Addison to be that age? RS teacher is one calling I covet. I’ve only ever taught RS twice, and I absolutely love it. But God knows I have too big of a head about teaching or something, so I never get to have the calling. But it’s ok. I love being in nursery, too. Primary seems to be a big part of my church service, and that is fine with me!

    Comment by v. blanchard — February 15, 2012 @ 12:42 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

