Don’t call us, we’ll call you

February 17, 2012

“Other compensating doors . . . “

As I was processing old papers a week or so ago, I found this quote I recorded during church a few years ago:

It will free you from the dead ends of your own reasoning.

Naturally I wanted to know what “it” was, so I googled the quote to figure out where it came from.  It turns out it’s from a 1995 talk by Elder Richard G. Scott called “Trust in the Lord.”  I read it on Sunday and the first lines really hit me:

It is so hard when sincere prayer about something we desire very much is not answered the way we want. It is especially difficult when the Lord answers no to that which is worthy and would give us great joy and happiness.

I’m certain I heard Elder Scott deliver this talk live, if for no other reason than my family always went to every. single. session. of General Conference.  Always.  I have to admit that for years I did not find Elder Scott a particularly compelling speaker; I think I tended to tune him out in comparison to some others (like President Eyring, my favorite).  But my feeling has changed in recent years as he has talked more about his family, especially the deaths of two of his children (within weeks of each other) and his wife.  I relate to him more now as someone that has experienced and coped with deep loss, rather than simply a lecturer, which, fair or not, he always seemed to me to be before.

Later in the talk, he says this:

I testify that when the Lord closes one important door in your life, He shows His continuing love and compassion by opening many other compensating doors through your exercise of faith.

Wow, that spoke right to me!  In that brief moment, I had this vision of what some of the “compensating doors” in my life may be for that one very important door that appears to be closing.  While they are things that  Neal and I have discussed intermittently for years, the pieces seemed to fit together in a new way now that I have accepted other realities of my life.  A sweet calm came over me, reminding me that I will love many other children even though they won’t all be “mine” in the same way Addison (sort of) is.  And for a few wonderful hours, I felt more than mere acceptance but genuine excitement for what the future holds.

5 Comments »

  1. What neat insight…and what a special way for God to reach out and put His arms around you.

    Comment by Rish — February 17, 2012 @ 11:52 pm

  2. E. Scott has always impressed me as one who thinks and feels deeply. Even more, he makes the effort to remain open to revelation & light, not expecting it to just “happen,” but inquires & works to make new insights evolve.

    Years ago, I met his wife at a DC function, & we connected. Sweet memory.

    Perhaps I remain out of the loop, Lindsay. At 32, you are still young, although new motherhood makes one feel old since it is so demanding physically. The door is not “apparently closing” unless YOU decide it is. If I am wrong, forgive me. Please tell me more when we speak or through e-mail. It does require faith & desire because it is not easy or simple, at least in my experience. Be patient; sometimes time is important. Love you!

    Comment by Lorie Call — February 18, 2012 @ 5:48 pm

  3. I remember a couple of conferences back Elder Scott relating the death of his child–I think that was the most powerful, moving experience I’ve ever had watching conference. What a good man. Thank you for this beautiful post!

    Comment by Krisanne — February 19, 2012 @ 3:00 am

  4. Thanks for posting this Lindsay. It was perfect for me too. I went and read the talk and felt like it was very comforting. Nobody else can understand exactly what you are going through, because they are not you and have not had the same life experiences; the same is true for anyone. Isn’t it wonderful that God can truly understand and that He gives sweet comfort and assurances at just the right minute, tailored exactly for you and your situation. Elder Scott has talked about “packets of light” (“Scriptures are like packets of light that illuminate our minds and give place to guidance and inspiration from on high”), I think “scriptures” definitely includes prophetic words from our own time. I’m glad you found inspiration in this and shared this, because I needed it too!

    Comment by Sabrina — February 21, 2012 @ 7:12 pm

  5. I thought I had commented on this post already, but I guess not. Thank you so much for it. It means a lot to me, especially with my theme for the year.

    Comment by v. blanchard — April 25, 2012 @ 1:06 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

