Don’t call us, we’ll call you

February 25, 2012

(Not) Getting Things Done: Processing, part V

The culmination of my “git ‘er done” year is that I want to fully implement the  Getting Things Done system in my life.  So I’m going to document the stages I’m going through over the next few weeks (before 2011 really ends).  I previously posted about CollectingProcessing, part IProcessing, part IIProcessing, part III, and Processing, part IV.

I said on February 8 that I only had one “processing” post left in me.  Things were humming right along and I thought in a few days time I would be done with my initial processing.  And then I got tired and a little bit sick and stuck in my own head (the sheer number of blog posts between then and now is a tell-tale sign).

So I’ve stalled in the physical processing department.  Seriously stalled.  As in, those file boxes I moved to the middle of our room were there for two solid weeks, until Neal finally moved them to the hallway earlier this week (oddly, he felt that we should be able to walk around in our room).  And my once-empty inbox is overflowing into Neal’s space and onto the floor.

I’m not gonna lie — I’m a little disappointed.  I had all this momentum and I gave myself a March 1 deadline, and I thought I was finally going to feel supremely organized.  But good gracious, I’m tired!  Most minutes that I absolutely don’t have to be up and about, I’m curled up in bed staring off into space or writing something.  I have to keep reminding myself that I’m doing some other hard work: mental processing.  It’s not as obviously productive (just ask Neal) but it’s still valuable.  Really, processing is about as apt a description for my inner life as any I can think of.

I’m not giving up.  Far from it.  But I’m acknowledging that there’s nothing magical about March 1.  I just need to keep on truckin’ and I’ll get there eventually.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

