Don’t call us, we’ll call you

March 20, 2012

(Still Not) Getting Things Done: Processing, part VI

The culmination of my “git ‘er done” year is that I want to fully implement the  Getting Things Done system in my life.  So I’m going to document the stages I’m going through over the next few weeks (before 2011 really ends).  I previously posted about CollectingProcessing, part IProcessing, part IIProcessing, part III, Processing, part IV, and Processing, part V.

Still not getting things done, but thinking about possibly, maybe getting things done again.  Someday.  Maybe.  That’s real progress, people!

I keep thinking about the closing line from that John Steinbeck letter I mentioned yesterday: “Nothing good gets away.”  It’s reminiscent of a line I have always loved from Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption: “No good thing ever dies.”  They are, of course, referring to such heady things as love and hope, but I’ve been puzzling over related questions while processing my old stuff.

I have been quite a pack-rat, endowed with such tendencies by my parents and grandparents, perhaps farther back than I even know.  When I was in college, I kept every page of notes, every paper, every scrap that someone wrote a note to me on.  I kept a lot from high school, junior high, and elementary school too, but I got much more organized and deliberate about it in college.  Though I’m committed to letting a lot of this stuff go, it still pains me a little bit to lose things that were once an important part of my life, even if only for a moment.  I have to keep telling myself that even if there are good things in there, I have either made them part of my life or I haven’t.  And the things that I still need to learn will come back around.  Nothing good, nothing really good, really important, really essential gets away, right?

Luckily, there have been at least a few things that were easy to toss.  If I was too bored to look at something for more than four and a half seconds, forget about it.  Like all my notes from Accounting 200 and papers that begin, “In many ways Western civilization during the High Middle Ages was innovative and progressive.”  Thank goodness for these inane things that give me sense of making real progress, even when I still have 5 or 6 boxes lining the hallway.

2 Comments »

  1. When I read your first paragraph, I remembered a quote I love that I haven’t thought about in a long time. In HS my little bros were obsessed with the cartoon “The Iron Giant,” and there’s a beautiful conversation in which the giant says, “Souls don’t die.”

    Comment by v. blanchard — March 20, 2012 @ 6:29 pm

  2. I seriously think that thinking about maybe thinking about getting things done is considered an accomplishment. Having good intentions is important, even if all you’re physically doing is hoping people have updated their blogs so you can read them, or maybe your “words with friends” friends have taken their turn 😉

    Comment by enelo — March 20, 2012 @ 6:57 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

